Kangaroo Island Lodge is steeped in history and is without a doubt the most well known holiday destination on the island.
In 1894, this very site was known as Ryberg House, the first guesthouse on Kangaroo Island. Owned by fisherman Niles Ryberg and his wife, Caroline, the exceptional fishing they offered meant it soon became known as, ‘The Anglers Paradise’.
John Linnett purchased the property in 1913 and so began the long history of ownership by the Linnett family. Many South Australians fondly recall holidaying at ‘Linnetts’ where they enjoyed the fine hospitality which continues to this day.
The present owners, all South Australians with a love of Kangaroo Island, bought the property in 1999 and a recent refurbishment of the hotel was completed in November 2014. Renaming it Kangaroo Island Lodge, renovations and refurbishments were undertaken with an emphasis on environmental enhancement and sustainability. Water harvesting, solar hot water, a desalination plant, the creation of an Environmental Walking Trail and habitats for native species such as the rare Glossy Black Cockatoo, were some of the projects undertaken.
Most importantly, the owners have retained the rambling feel of this historic place whilst still providing high quality accommodation. A wonderful dining experience (with an emphasis on local produce), and a great base for exploring this unique and special island.